The Council


This Parish is in the council area of North Yorkshire (Local Authority District). Washburn Parish Council consists of five areas: Blubberhouses, Fewston, Great Timble, Little Timble and Norwood.

There are ten seats on the Council, with one salaried employee (the Parish Clerk). Councillors are elected to serve a four year term, with the next elections scheduled for May 2026. All parish councillors serve on a voluntary basis.

Meetings are held every two months on a Monday evening, together with an Annual Parish Meeting held in May at which the Chair and Vice Chair are elected. The dates and venue of meetings are shown on the Minutes and Agendas page. The meeting agenda and venue are posted on the four parish noticeboards and on the website at least three working days prior to the meeting.

Any member of the public may attend a parish meeting, request an issue to be included on the agenda or request to raise an issue through attendance at a council meeting by contacting the Clerk.

The council raises finance to support its activities through the parish precept. The precept is the parish council’s share of the council tax. The precept request of the Parish Council goes to the billing authority, North Yorkshire Council, who collects the precept amount on behalf of the parish council which is then paid annually to the parish in two instalments.

Parish councils make all kinds of decisions on issues that affect the local community. The most common topics that Washburn Parish Council get involved with are planning matters (they are statutory consultees), reporting highways issues and maintenance around the parish.

Parish councils have limited powers but they do aim to represent the views of its residents. As residents themselves it is felt that councillors are more able to be aware of local views. The principal authority (North Yorkshire Council) and the police will use the parish council as consultees and to disseminate information.

The council also employs a caretaker to carry out maintenance tasks.